Easy Caramel Tarts

19 Aug

Since today is my birthday, instead of a cake, I opted to make something a little less traditional to celebrate. I’m obsessed with caramel—I could drink the stuff—so I decided to make a really easy caramel tart. The tarts are small, eliminating the risk of eating 4 slices, and fast to assemble, which meant I didn’t have to slave in the kitchen on a day when I should be relaxing.

Caramel Tarts (makes 3 tarts)

3 premade mini pie crusts
5/8 cup sugar
3 Tbsp. corn syrup
2 Tbsp. butter
1 oz. chocolate
3/8 cup heavy cream

To make the caramel, mix the sugar, corn syrup, and a few tablespoons of water in a small saucepan. Try not to splash the mixture on the sides of the pan. Boil the sugar solution while brushing down the sides of the pan to prevent crystallization. A wet pastry brush can be used for this. I often use a wet paper towel.

Boil the caramel until it’s a dark amber. Add 1/4 cup of the cream slowly while whisking. The caramel will bubble up. Add the butter and whisk. Pour the hot caramel into your pie crusts and set in the fridge to cool.

Once the caramel is cool, make the ganache. Boil 2 Tbsp. of cream and pour it over the chocolate. Whisk together until smooth and spoon onto each tart. The chocolate will spread a bit. Tap the bottom of each tart to get the chocolate to spread in a circle. Put the tarts back in the fridge for a few minutes to set.

One Response to “Easy Caramel Tarts”

  1. Aaisha @BakingPartTime December 3, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

    These look great! And you make it seem so simple. I’m someone who keeps chocolate souffles ready to be baked when I know I’m going to have company. I think I need to add this to the list too 🙂 Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

