Sfinges

9 Mar

Last year, I encouraged you to go out and eat a sfinge, but this year, I want you to make your own. St. Joseph’s Day (Mar. 19th) is fast approaching, so I decided to tackle this recipe. It has homemade cannoli cream (which I could eat by the bucket), chocolate chips, and candied fruit. Since sfinges are my all-time favorite dessert, I anxiously await the start of Lent each year – the only time these delicious treats are available at my local bakery. Now that I can personally whip up a batch, there might be trouble. Sfinge Fridays anyone?

Sfinge
Makes 16

Dough (Pâte à choux)

3 cups bread flour
1 cup milk
1 cup water
9 large eggs
16 Tbsp. butter
3/4 tsp. sugar
3/4 tsp. salt

Filling

3 lb. whole milk ricotta
1 3/4 cups sugar
1 cup chocolate chips
3 Tbsp. milk
2 tsp. vanilla extract
1 tsp. nutmeg

Toppings

1/2 cup candied red cherries
3 Tbsp. candied orange peel or fresh orange zest

Preheat the oven to 400°F. Boil the water, milk, sugar, butter, and salt together. Once the liquid is boiling, remove it from the heat and quickly add the flour. Stir vigorously until the dough pulls away from the sides of the pot. Put the dough in a mixer and mix it with a paddle attachment for 30 seconds. Add the eggs to the dough two at a time while the mixer is running. After all the ingredients are incorporated, put the dough in a piping bag (I used a plastic sandwich bag with the corner clipped). Line two baking sheets with parchment paper and pipe out 16 circular blobs.

Bake the dough rounds at 400°F for 15-20 minutes until they start to get some color. Turn the heat down to 325°F and bake the sfinges for 30 more minutes. Cool them on a wire rack.

To make the filling, combine all the ingredients in a bowl and mix well. Put the filling in a piping bag and pipe it into the sfinges. Pipe a swirl of filling on top of each sfinge and add the candied cherries and orange peel.

5 Responses to “Sfinges”

  1. Ilke March 9, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    Last year I did not know you, so I did not go out and eat one but this year, I will make this baby! The name reminds me the Smurfs 🙂

  2. Donna March 10, 2011 at 5:47 am #

    Thanks for reminding me that it’s that time of year again. I’m ordering up a boxful for my office.

  3. Mary March 10, 2011 at 8:26 am #

    I haven’t heard of these before, but it looks awesome! The wiki posts says they are sometimes called “zeppole” which I have heard of and really, really like. Now I’m craving sweets!

  4. fabulousfoodie March 10, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

    These look awesome girl! Thanks for following me on twittter… your content is fun! 🙂 gradtogourmet.com

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. St. Joseph’s Day Sfinge | So Apparently - March 12, 2011

    […] Get the recipe. […]

Leave a Reply

